Striking a cord

I have just come across an interesting article by Eric Pat noudes regarding Empowering students through blogging. In the article he talks about using student outcomes to drive the use of technology and how an authentic audience can improve student motivation and engagement.

While the article is focused on school students it has me thinking about the possibility of similar outcomes when used in adult education particularly in the tertiary relm. My initial thinking and much of that is based on my reactions to my use of blogs in the course is that it possibly would increase motivation and engagement in students particularly with non assessed activities.

Increasing the use of blogs in my teaching is something I have been thinking about doing in my teaching for the last couple of weeks although I am a little restricted by organisational requirements but this is something that I am going to work on for my next semester subjects.

3 thoughts on “Striking a cord

  1. […] the concept of blogging and how it can lead to positive outcomes for students – Annelise, Musette, Paul and […]

    Like

  2. […] the blogging process that we have undertaken and a number of us have commented on this (Annelise, Musette, Paul). “If you write about it, you have to think about […]

    Like

  3. […] learners actively engaged in the global community.’  Blogging has proved a rewarding and empowering experience for me.  The feedback has been instantaneous and I found that when working with an authentic […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

